HSM #1 – Procrastination: Trying Trousers

IMG_3965

This is the first challenge of the Historical Sew Monthly 2016:

Procrastination – finish a garment you have been putting off finishing (a UFO or PHD) or make something you have been avoiding starting.

Well, procrastinate I did. Not the sewing, I finished this in the first week of January, but I just didn’t get round to writing about it, so my first entry for this year is, alas, late.

I made a pair of trousers. Trousers are unquestionably practical, when you spend a lot of time with a toddler (i.e. on the floor or at the playground), but I never liked to spend my precious sewing time on something so unexciting. Moreover, the few attempts I have made over the last years, with original 1930s or modern 30s style patterns were not crowned with success, waist and/or crotch just never turned out right. So I thought it a good thing to finally make another serious attempt – it can’t be so difficult!

I used the Smooth Sailing pattern by Wearing History, which I have owned for years but never used – I was never really convinced of the pleats in the front and the turn-ups; feels too Rosie-the-Riveter-y for me. Still I read many positive reviews about it and I had it in stash. Our moving house has made any purchases inopportune for the time being, so I used a fabric from stash, too, a blend of something or other, non-soiling, crease-proof and not very pleasant to touch, but not a bad choice for something that might turn out as a toile after all.

IMG_3967

The pattern worked fine. The trousers fitted perfectly without any adjustments, the waist is high and the crotch low enough, and the fabric looks nice in them. Since I lined it, it is not too uncomfortable to wear. I am still no great fan of the pleats though (and went without the turn-ups anyway), so I will try another pair without these, maybe for the Gender-Bender-Challenge in April. All in all: not a favourite, but a good step on the way.

The Challenge: Procrastination

Material: I don’t remember – cotton, I think, but with a lot of something else in it, and polyester lining

Pattern: Smooth Sailing by Wearing History

Year: about 1938

Notions: thread, zipper, 1 button

How historically accurate is it? The pattern and fit is quite accurate, the fabric most certainly is not. So maybe 70%?

Hours to complete: three evenings

First worn: a couple of times yet, at home

One thought on “HSM #1 – Procrastination: Trying Trousers

Leave a comment